The College of New Rochelle Welcomes New Trustees

NEW ROCHELLE, NY, December 17, 2013 – The College of New Rochelle has announced new appointees to the College's Board of Trustees. Karen Calo and Cynthia DiPietrantonio were appointed for their first term. Sr. Diana Stano, OSU, who has previously served on the Board from 1999 to 2005, and from 2006 to 2012, will be serving her fifth term.

On announcing the appointments, Judith Huntington, President of The College of New Rochelle, said, “We are so pleased to welcome these impressive and accomplished women to our Board of Trustees. I am confident that they will be great resources for our Board, and play an important role in the advancement of the College.”

Karen Calo, Vice President Human Resources, IBM


Karen Calo is Vice President of Human Resources, Systems and Technology Group and Integrated Supply Chain at IBM, a position she has held since 2008.  In this position, Calo has HR responsibility for approximately 50,000 employees globally. She is also a member of the HR Operating Team, comprised of the worldwide senior executives in the human resources function of IBM; and a member of IBM's Integration and Values Team, the senior executive group which is responsible for driving integration across IBM.

Since joining IBM in 1980, Calo has held human resources' staff and management positions in various IBM locations including corporate headquarters, the field, research and the IBM Consulting Group. She has been Director of Human Resources Global Services, Asia Pacific, residing in Singapore; Vice President Global Staffing; Vice President Human Resources Software Group; Vice President Human Resources Business Consulting Services (2002-2004); and prior to her current role, she served as Vice President Global Talent (2005-2008).

An alumna of The College of New Rochelle, Calo received a BA in psychology in 1979, and received an MBA from Pace University. She lives with her husband, Richard A. Calo in Ridgefield, CT.

Cynthia DiPietrantonio, Chief Operating Officer, The Jones Group


Cynthia DiPietrantonio is Chief Operating Officer for The Jones Group, a leading diversified apparel and footwear company. The Company's nationally recognized brands include Jones New York, Nine West, Anne Klein, Rachel Roy, Gloria Vanderbilt, Kasper, Bandolino, Easy Spirit, Evan-Picone, L.E.I., Energie, Enzo Angiolini, Joan & David, Mootsies Tootsies, Kurt Geiger, Napier, Judith Jack, Albert Nipon and Le Suit, Robert Rodriguez, and Stuart Weitzman.  

Over the course of her 30-year tenure at The Jones Group, DiPietrantonio has held positions of progressive responsibility. Currently, as COO of The Jones Group, DiPietrantonio oversees the company's day-to-day operations, including Systems and Technology, Logistics and Operations, Customer Service, Imports, Customs, Compliance, and Distribution and Production. Her responsibility also includes The Jones Group's Hong Kong offices and its production offices in China. 

In addition to her corporate responsibilities, DiPietrantonio serves as Co-Chair and a member of the Board of Directors of Voluntary Inter-industry Commerce Standards (VICS), as Co-Chair of VICS item Level RFID initiative (VILRI), the industry-led initiative for use of radio-frequency identification (RFID), and as a member of the Advisory Board for Sheex, a luxury performance bedding manufacturer.  She has been an invited guest speaker at numerous professional and industry conferences, including the National Retail Federation (NRF), U-Connect, and The Wharton Women Business Conference at The University of Pennsylvania.  An active member of Fortune's Most Powerful Women in Business, DiPietrantonio also volunteers for several charitable and non-profit programs.

An alumna of The College of New Rochelle, DiPietrantonio graduated with a BFA from the School of Arts and Sciences.  

Sister Diana Stano, OSU, President, Ursuline College


Sister Diana Stano, OSU, the sixteenth President of Ursuline College, taught as a professor of education and served in various leadership positions before her appointment as President in 1996. Previously, she served as Dean of Graduate Studies and Director of Institutional Research, as founder and Director of the Graduate Program in Non-Public Administration, the college's first master's degree program, and as Chair of the Education Department.

As a professional consultant, Sr. Diana has presented internationally in Taiwan, China, West Africa, and Canada.  A panelist in numerous forums, she has also presented at national conferences including the International Leadership Association and the American Council on Education.  She has led workshops for educators, religious and other non-profit organizations, is an active member of many professional associations, and a peer evaluator for the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association.

Nationally, Sr. Diana served as chair of the Commission of Women in Higher Education of the American Council on Education.  She has served as Secretary/Treasurer and President of the Association of Catholic Leadership Programs and as a program Co-Chair of the North American Association of Ursuline Educators. 

She is a member of the Board of Catholic Community Connects, and a member and Vice-Chair of the Council of Presidents of the NCAA DII G-MAC Conference.  She has served on college boards, including as a Trustee of the Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Ohio and on the Executive Committee and the Board of Trustees of the Ohio Foundation for Independent Colleges.

A graduate of Ursuline College, Sr. Diana earned her doctorate in science education from The Ohio State University. 

Contact: Elizabeth Weisman
(914) 654-5281