Christine Biskup SAS'13 GS'14 Recognized at Athletic Banquet


Christine Biskup SAS'13 GS'14  is a typical athlete at The College of New Rochelle. While she did play basketball in high school, she didn't consider herself an athlete until she arrived on campus as a freshman in 2009.

“If I attended a different school, I never would have followed this path," Christine said. "Because it’s an NCAA Division III program, I’m able to maintain a 3.8GPA and still attend all of my games and practices without guilt that my academics are suffering. It's easy to balance."

Christine is enrolled in a five-year program that will allow her to graduate with a master's degree in special education. She is also the President of the Student Athlete Advisory Committee, a member of the Fly Angels Dance Team, participated in the Leadership Empowerment and Education Program (LEEP), and is also a Peer Minister.

At the Athletics Banquet on May 9, 2012, she received three awards: a Scholar Athlete Award for the highest GPA on the basketball team; a Coaches Award for her spirit on the Softball Team; and a Silver Key Award for her participation in three sports since freshman year.

“I did win a lot of awards this year, from LEEP as well as at the Athletic Banquet. I’m happy, but it kind of rolls off my back now. It's easy to be successful because it's a small school. There are a lot more people pushing you to be your best."

Pictured above (l-r): Harold Crocker, Director of Athletics, Kashif Hameed, Assistant Basketball Coach, Christine Biskup SAS'13 GS'14, Susan Kern, Head Basketball Coach.

For more information on the CNR Blue Angels, click here to visit our athletics website.

Photos from the Athletic Banquet

Athletic Banquet Special Recognition Awards

For more information on awards, click here.

Cross Country

 Alyssa Beasley  Most Valuable Player
 Erika Alvarado  Most Improved Player
 Gene Green  Coaches Award
 Kerline Dieudonne  Scholar Athlete


 Jhanelle Mullings   Most Valuable Player 
 Nicole Best  Most Improved
 Kendra Michel  Coaches Award
 Jamilla Smith  Scholar Athlete


 Meghan King  Most Valuable Player
 Tanika Charles  Most Improved Player
 Zena Jamal  Coaches Award
 Kristina Nilaj  Scholar Athlete


 Catherine Santivanez   Most Valuable Player
 Kathie-Lee Rickman
 Most Improved Player
 Milagros Lugo  Coaches Award
 Cassandra Irons  Scholar Athlete


 Alyssa Pechin  Most Valuable Player
 Angelique Avin  Most Improved Player
 Holly Cammarota  Coaches Award
 Christine Biskup  Scholar Athlete


 Rachel Lloyd  Most Improved Player
Christine Biskup
Rita Saad
Meghan King
 Coaches Award
 Tanika Charles  Scholar Athlete

Silver Key Awards

 Erika Alvarado  XC
 Delnisha Baker  Tennis
Christine Biskup  VB,BB, SB
 Sonia Daniel  Tennis
 Kerline  Dieudonne  XC
 Karolyn Guzman  XC, Tennis
 Zena Jamal  BB
 Elizabeth Johnston  VB, BB, SB
 Kristina Nilaj  VB, BB, SB
 Mary Smith-Mitchell  Tennis
 Tania Veloz  XC

Gold Key Awards

 Gene Green  XC, SB
 Alyssa Beasley  XC
 Zena Jamal  VB
 Cassandra Irons  Swimming

Senior Scholar Athlete

Tania Veloz

Bronze Plaque Award

Zena Jamal