Westchester Chemical Society Honors CNR Student for Achievement in Chemistry


Ramya Bharathi SAS'15 was among ten local students recognized by the Westchester section of the American Chemical Society (WCS) for outstanding performance in her first year chemistry coursework.

Every year, local institutions are invited to nominate one student who exemplifies a high standard of excellence in first-year chemistry chosen on the basis of "scholastic performance, aptitude in the laboratory, and probability of a future career in the chemical sciences."

The awards ceremony, held on May 2, 2012, at Pace University in Pleasantville, NY, also featured a dinner and keynote lecture by Zbigniew Darzynkiewicz, M.D.,Ph.D. (New York Medical College), the recipient of this year's Distinguished Scientist Award. Dr. Darzynkiewicz was recognized for his lifetime contributions to understanding the molecular mechanisms of cell proliferation, apoptosis, and sensitivity to cancer drugs.

Denise Dailey SAS'14, Laura Acuna SAS'15, Manuela Patino SAS'15, and Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Dr. Lee Warren, also represented CNR at the event.

Pictured here (l-r): Dr. Peter Corfield, Ramya Bharathi SAS'15, Dr. A. Rolande Hodel