CNR Student-Athletes Honored at Annual Athletics Banquet


The College of New Rochelle honored more than 70 of its Blue Angel student-athletes at its annual Athletics Banquet on Wednesday, May 8, at Beckwith Pointe Club. Senior Christine Biskup received the Bronze Plaque Award, given to a four-year letter-winner who exhibited noteworthy leadership and service.

Biskup also received the Senior Scholar-Athlete Award, recognizing the graduating student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade point average; and earned the Gold Key Award, designating a four-year letter-winner in a single sport for her contributions to the volleyball, basketball and softball teams. The senior was also named the Scholar Athlete for the basketball team and received the Coach's Award for softball.

During her career, Biskup helped the Blue Angels to one HVWAC regular season and two HVWAC tournament volleyball championships, and was a consistent starter for basketball and softball teams that improved each season. Biskup served as captain of the volleyball and softball teams as a senior and has held leadership positions in the College’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, has been instrumental in the coordination of the College’s annual Community Service Day and Strawfest events, and is involved with Peer Ministry.

The Highland Falls, N.Y., native also presented the senior student-athlete address, the keynote speech for the gathering.

Most Valuable honorees for each sport were Jasmine Brandon, basketball; Tayler Fisher, cross-country; Meghan King, softball and volleyball; Claudia Benitez, swimming; and Deanna Tozzo, tennis.

Most Improved honorees for each sport were Holly Cammarota, basketball; Anissa Figueroa, cross-country; Sheina McClendon, softball; Corrine Natal, swimming; Kendra Michel, tennis; and Chinwe Nzeama, volleyball.

The student-athletes recognized with Coach's Awards were Alyssa Pechin, basketball; Meagan Yoeono; cross-country; Christine Biskup, softball; Milagros Lugo, swimming; Sonia Daniel, tennis; and Cydney House, volleyball.

The Team Scholar Athlete Awards went to Christine Biskup, basketball; Suting Liu, cross-country; Tanika Charles, softball; Kathie-Lee Rickman, swimming; Nancy Varughese, tennis; and Erica Cuscina, volleyball.

(Photo: Christine Biskup accepts the Bronze Plaque Award from Director of Athletics Harold Crocker.)