Clear Search Results


Women's Volleyball Claims Sixth-Straight HVIAC Title

November 16, 2018

CNR’s women's volleyball team took home their sixth straight Hudson Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (HVIAC) Championship title earlier this month without dropping a set. The win extends the Lady Angels win streak in conference and tournament play to 34 matches going back to the 2013 season. 

The No. 1 seed Blue Angels, regular season champions, were led by Tournament MVP Imani DeBose (Carson, CA, Narbonne High School) in the three set defeat over the No. 2 seed Davis College to claim the 2018 HVIAC women's volleyball championship. 

Junior, DeBose, hit .429 and slammed down 19 kills to go along with four aces to earn her second Tournament MVP honor. She was first recognized as Tournament MVP during her rookie season in 2016. The junior outside was also a member of the HVIAC All-Conference Team.

In the semifinal win over The Culinary Institute of America Steels, New Rochelle pounded down 33 kills as a team to go along with 27 aces. The Blue Angels were led by HVIAC Player of the Year and member of the All-Conference Team Simaima Fukofuka (Garden Grove, CA, Santiago High School) in the win. Fukofuka pounded down 10 kills, to go along with four aces. Freshman Genesis Soto Ruiz (San Juan., P.R.) led both teams with five aces in the match.

In the championship game the Blue Angels offense was again led by juniors Imani DeBose and Simaima Fukofuka. DeBose slammed down 10 kills, followed by Fukofuka who had nine. The Player of the Year also served up five aces and five blocks in the win. Senior libero Stephanie Garcia (Chino, CA) had five aces and 12 digs in the three set win. She was also a member of the HVIAC All-Conference Team for the first time in her career this season. Garcia finishes regular season with 998 career digs. 

New Rochelle finishes the 2018 regular season with an overall record of 13-15.


All-Conference Team
Imani DeBose*, New Rochelle, Jr., OH, Carson, CA
Ashley Ferrando, Culinary, So., S/OPP, Cressona, PA
Simaima Fukofuka*, New Rochelle, Jr., MB, Gardon Grove, CA
Stephanie Garcia, New Rochelle, Sr., L, Chino, CA
Samantha Klozik, King's, Fr., OH, Plymouth, MI
Isabelle Sandmeyer, King's, Gr., OH, San Diego, CA
Erica Stockwell, Davis, Jr., Norwich, N.Y. 
Linnea Sweeney, Davis, Jr., Cortland, N.Y.

Player of the Year - Simaima Fukofuka (The College of New Rochelle)
Rookie of the Year - Samantha Klozik (The King's College)
Coaching Staff of the Year - Alainey Banks, Peter Ling, Katie Fox (Davis College)


*Denotes 2017 All-Conference selection